Church of Santa Maria Corteorlandini
Via Santa Maria Corteorlandini
It was built back in the 12th cent. It was built on an older church, which took its name from Santa Maria Nera (Our Holy Black Lady) because it had a copy of the statue of Our Lady of Loreto. Of the original medieval church only the two minor apses and the right side with a portal survive. The latter is topped by an archivolt decorated with a plant relief and on the two sides there are two lions. It takes its name from the “curtis Rolandinga” where it was built. The interior has unique examples of baroque art in Lucca such as the gilt capitals, the arches and the painted ceiling. The perfect replica of the Chapel-Sanctuary of the Holy House of Loreto dated 1662 is charming.
Currently the State Library counts some 500,000 books.